Things Must Change. We Must Bring the Change.

I woke up this morning and checked the news, as I do most mornings. This morning was different. Something in the air felt heavy. I watched the report on the happenings in Charlottesville, VA and I felt my heart break all over again. I have been staying updated on the events since they began Friday evening. I have been searching my heart for the words to describe how I feel and there just aren’t any that do it justice.

What is happening in our nation is horrible, vile, and disgusting. Anyone who thinks otherwise is a terrible human being, and I don’t care who I offend with that statement. These men marching, with their torches and their chanting, are the definition of racism, bigotry, and privileged white men.

Anyone who is surprised by the actions these terrorists (because that’s what they fucking are… domestic terrorists) are taking, clearly has not been paying attention. THIS IS NOT NEW. This racism, bigotry, terrorism of people who are not (cis)WHITE MEN, has been happening for as long as I can remember. If you disagree with that statement, then I have nothing to say to you except WHERE THE FUCK HAVE YOU BEEN??

I’m angry. I’m angry at these “protestors”. I’m angry at President Trump and his lack of ability to call this hatred what it actually is, terrorism.

These men think what they are doing is right, and that is what bothers me more than anything. They have been coddled and encouraged to feel like they deserve the world handed to them on a damn platter. Guys, this started over a FUCKING STATUE. What the hell??? There are so many REAL problems in this world for Women, POC, LGBTQ+ individuals… and these men are worried about a damn statue.

Where are all of the people who were condemning the protests in Ferguson, MO? Where are all of you who were so vocal about Kaepernick’s (silent) protest, kneeling during the National Anthem? Why are you all so damn quiet now??

My heart hurts. I don’t even know what else to say. This is not how this world should be. This is not okay. I am angry. I am heartbroken. We need to fight hate. We need to be the change, now more than ever. There are people afraid for their lives, afraid for their families… someone is dead because of these acts of hatred and violence.

Do not be silent. Do not be afraid to be a voice. Especially to my fellow white friends and family, we need to fight for those who are being persecuted and broken. If we sit idly by, we are allowing this to happen. If we do not stand up for what we KNOW is right, we are no better than those men holding torches marching through the streets.

Leave a Reply

